The Best Pathway

For you are my hiding place; you protect me from trouble. You surround me with songs of victory. The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise and watch over you. Do not be like a senseless horse or mule that needs a bit and bridle to keep it under control.” Many sorrows come to the wicked, but unfailing love surrounds those who trust the Lord. -Psalm 32:7-10 NLT

This verse leads me to ask myself, “Am I being quiet enough to hear the direction of the Lord?” During this season of Lent, I am trying to cut out some of the distractions that fill my life up and make it feel busy. For me, this tends to be the processing of extra information. I love my RSS feeds that range from feeds on the environment, to web technology, to international business news, but during this season of Lent, I am trying to limit my the information that I process on a daily basis. I have come to realize that none of this information is a bad thing, but filling my brain with all kinds of distracting information leaves a lot less room for processing the things of God.

Pastor Joel Schmidgall spoke on fasting this past Sunday, and he likened information overload to white noise. White noise is when you have power at all sound frequencies making it nearly impossible to distinguish any individual sound frequency. It is so easy in life to be listening to multiple distractions at one time and miss the voice of the Lord leading you in your life. Being a Gen-Yer, I have come of age in the world of IMs, social networks, RSS feeds, internet radio, digital cable, on-demand everything; sometimes it is hard to turn down those frequencies just to be quiet.

Seven years ago I had an extreme sports accident that placed me on bed rest for six weeks. During that time, I felt was impressed by the Lord that I was to use that time to wait on Him. To this day I feel that God used that time in my life to force me to slow down and listen to His voice. I hope that I can train myself to listen in all circumstances. Hopefully it won’t take six weeks of bed rest to get my attention the next time around!

Leave a Reply

