Clues from Neurology

I am attending the Educause 2008 conference in Orlando, Florida. The keynote speaker for the first day of the conference was V.S. Ramachandran, Professor and Director of the Center for Brain and Cognition, at the University of California, San Diego.

He spoke about unique aspects of the human brain, including phantom pain and synesthesia. Check out his presentation here. It is really fascinating.

Also, check out this POD on CurrentTV for a first hand description of synesthesia.

One thought on “Clues from Neurology

  1. Hi, I have endured 68 operations and became an above knee amputee in 1996. I have excrutiating phantom pain. I have known of V. S. Ramachandran not long after that. I have done thousands of hours of research on phantom pain and would love to go see this Doctor. If my pain could be better controlled, my life would be so unbelieveably better, more enjoyable and I could probably comfortably wear a prosthesis. If there is anyone out there that could or would want to help me with this, I would forever be greatful. I am a fighter, a survivor. I was involved in 2 catastrophic accidents at age 13 and 15. Spent over 1000 days in the hospital, 23 broken bones, 68 operations, and hundreds of hours of rehabilitation. I could of never imagined the impact PHANTOM PAIN would have on every aspect of my LIFE. Your welcome to email me at
    stacilyn68@yahoo.com
    Thanks, Staci

Leave a Reply

